Tags

, , , ,

The last time I posted, on Labor Day, was the day we heard that Jean’s death was  imminent. I had reposted “Jean’s Journey” to tell you more about Jean, my mother-in-law, who was suffering from Alzheimers.

Jean left this world at 12:20 pm on Thursday, September 4th, 2014. We were relieved to see her released from a body that no longer worked. We pictured her in her new glorified body, reuniting with Sam, her husband, and seeing the face of Christ. We cannot even imagine what that will be like.

Last week was full of preparations. To allow for out-of town-relatives to arrive, the visitation was scheduled for Sunday from 3:00 to 8:00. It was a packed house! She had so many friends from all walks of life. It was great to talk to all these people, but exhausting.

I had my two youngest daughters, a son-in-law and my grandbaby at the house, so we had a good visit.

The funeral was yesterday, Monday, September 8th. Jean was laid to rest after a 10:00 to 12:00 visitation and a 12:00 funeral.

We went to my sister-in-law’s home to eat and visit with the out-of-town relatives and each other. We really had a good time together, and then my house guests all returned home.

Yesterday I was so happy for Jean in the company of others, but today I am home alone recovering from the last week, and I find myself thinking of all the good memories I have of Jean. Up until she died, I thought everyday of her in the nursing home and prayed for her release. Now that she is gone, I think of things I would have liked to tell her before she left.

It is a bittersweet day for me, and I am sure I will have these days in the near future until my grieving has ended.

I look forward to joining her again someday and so many others that have passed from this world into heaven. That is my comfort at this time.

Thank you for those who reached out to us with love and prayers. Everything that was done for us is appreciated.

Rest in Peace, Jean.

